Coping With PR

Public relations life lessons from a student who is still in the trenches.

Don’t Be Afraid To Use Your Grandma! February 7, 2007

Filed under: family,internship,Kent State Public Relations — copingwithpr @ 2:32 pm

PR Life Lesson #37   (No– this is not a ‘how to’ in Grandma-labor)

            I, like many PR juniors and seniors at Kent State, have been scrambling to find a summer internship. In theory this task would be easy…  Bill sends out information on internship opportunities to the PR majors listserv practically everyday. So all I really have to do is pick a few and send out my resume. Right? Wrong… 1) I’m finicky. I can’t just pick an internship all willy nilly. It has to feel like a right fit to me. 2) I live in Chippewa, PA, so most of listserv opportunities are just too far away to work for me.

            So I have set off on a lovely magical adventure this semester called “let’s find Emily an internship.” I scoured the Web, asked professors for direction and basically tried all the typical ways to find an internship. I found ONE internship that fit my picky standards. Needless to say I had to find other internships to apply to so I frantically began using everyone and everything I could think of. This is how I stumbled upon my greatest internship resource: Grandma.

          Actually, not just Grandma, but my whole family. I mentioned my need of a summer internship once, and my mom and Grandma swooped in. My mom asked her friends about which local businesses offer internships. She got me contact information for two places and helped me get my foot in the door (we live in a small community…you ALWAYS know someone). My grandma put the word out on the ‘grandma-network’. She gave me two great internship leads too. Plus she suggested I look into the health care industry, which I never would have thought of on my own. My uncle was even able to give me a few recommendations.

            I went from ONE internship possiblity to SIX with the help of my family. I am not writing this to brag… yes, my grandma is better than yours, but that is besides the point. The point is use all your resources, especially your family! My family might be a little foggy on what PR people actually do, but it dosn’t matter. They still had personal connections and insightful suggestions. PR is all about building relationships and communication. So when you’re looking for an internship (or doing a number of other things) don’t forget to take advantage of the relationships you’ve already built!!

 

15 Responses to “Don’t Be Afraid To Use Your Grandma!”

  1. Elizabeth Sanders Says:

    This is an adorable story. Your Grandma rocks! Is this the one that makes amazing angel food cake? If so, I think I may steal her…

  2. mundopr Says:

    This is awesome! You should be so proud of yourself! Plus, you’ll be able to show your blog off when you interview with these potential internships. Very funny entry–yet very relatable.

  3. Ciji Tidwell Says:

    Emily,
    Your grandma is not better than mine (although apparently she makes amazing angel food cake, and I want some); however, you hit the nail on the head in that networking is key – to everything. Good luck on your magical happy adventure.

  4. Brian Jones Says:

    I love the Grandma Network, it’s been there a couple times for me.

  5. Allison Traina Says:

    Emily,
    I’m pretty sure we all have amazing grandparents and family, but I think mine is better! Haha.. jk Thats awesome that you got a lot of help from them!!! Great Blog!~

  6. abbey Says:

    i know what you should do: work for the stater. that will solve all your problems–ever.

    🙂

  7. Amy Cope Says:

    Good Morning Emily Jane, It sounds like you have a wonderful family….:)

  8. Mellie McGraw Says:

    Hi Emily,
    I have to agree your Grandma is pretty great. But you’ll have to ask your Mom about Mam-Maw sometime. (my grandma) Enjoyed reading this. Best of luck you.
    Mellie

  9. Scott McCarty Says:

    Emily,
    If you are interested in not getting paid for the internship, church and civic groups could benefit from someone who could provide some catchy, edgy PR ideas that might attract people to groups that are considered to be out of touch with 2007.

  10. copingwithpr Says:

    Hey guys-
    I just wanted to thank everyone for all the wonderful comments!!! I am so excited people are reading my blog and enjoying it…and enjoying my Grandma too apparently 🙂 I hope everyone keeps coming back to the site!
    Scott, thank you for the great tip on churches and civic groups. I definatly think it would be a beneficial internship avenue to pursue 🙂
    -Emily Cope
    ps- Yes, I am talking about the Grandma who makes amazing angel food cake!
    pss- I am hoping after she reads my blog she makes me some…hint, hint…

  11. Jane Owens Says:

    Emily Jane,
    I know your grandma…she is awesome…and so is yo’mama! Hope you get a great intership this summer !!!

    Alabama Jane ( your namesake)

  12. amy thompson Says:

    Alright, this is me being jealous because I have no Grandma Network nor do I want to brag about my Grandmothers’s cooking and baking, because it was terrible. I also don’t have an internship and my major doesn’t require me to do anything awesome like creating and maintaining a blog.
    So, basically, with one semester to go until graduation, I should be a PR major and be adopted by a family with connections.
    I like your design, too.

  13. Hi Emily. It sounds to me like you have the right idea. In the world of PR it is often not just what you know, it is who you know. It’s all about learning to make connections and keep them. The more you make, the further you’ll go. There’s a lot to be said for networking in any profession. And besides, if you can’t use your family, who can you use, I ask you?

  14. Bill Sledzik Says:

    I gotta add one thing. Anyone who draws 14 comments on her first blog post knows something about networking! Blogs aren’t much good without readers, after all. Now where exactly is this Chippewa place? I may be able to help you, so long as the folks there are Steeler fans.

  15. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Leave a Reply

