Coping With PR

Public relations life lessons from a student who is still in the trenches.

Always Be Prepared! March 2, 2007

Filed under: helpful tips,preparation — copingwithpr @ 2:06 pm

PR Life Lesson #41 (No I am not a girl scout….though I was in Campfire….but that has nothing to do with the post… and I was a horrible Campfire girl…)

          The appropriate title for this lesson in reality should be “Don’t Get Sick!” But 1) it just sounded too negative and 2) getting sick is kind of unavoidable… so that rule wouldn’t be really helpful to anyone.

           Alright… I went to bed Sunday night perfectly fine and woke up Monday with a moderate case of ‘death’ (a.k.a. sore throat, runny nose, fever and general misery). This particular case of death lasted about four/five days. I dragged myself to all my classes but couldn’t to do much else all week (well…besides managing to infect the entire Kent Campus…sorry about that everyone).

            Now that I am finally feeling better, I am surveying the damage done to my grades. So far it seems that I survived relatively unscathed. I know, you’re saying ‘yay for you, why does this matter?’ Well this matters because odds are this will happen to you too at some point. And I got through it by being prepared.

My Tips On Being Prepared:

1. Use a planner– Keep a planner all the time (trust me it’ll make your life less hectic) and when you get sick it’s great because it has everything in one place. So you can easily prioritize and put off the non-essential stuff until you feel better.

2. Work ahead– I know this seems impossible. It isn’t. If you put yourself through one really sucky week (during which you work really hard on getting the next week’s stuff done in addition to the current week’s work) you will get a week ahead of schedule. Then you just have to maintain it. If you can do it this system is amazing! Knowing you’re ahead all the time takes tons of pressure off. But I am realistic… just make sure you complete assignments….30..um…15 minutes before they are due 🙂

3. Have friends– My friends were awesome this week and really helped me get through. (Thank you Allison for the care package of medicine….and the post-it notes with the medicine’s directions…. and the post-it note explaining NOT to take ALL the medicine at once 🙂 ) Plus it’s really good idea to have a friend in your classes… They can explain to you what happened in class all week…. class just gets foggy when you’re sick.

            I know these are obvious tips, but I didn’t know how important they were until I actually had to rely on them. Just do yourself a favor and follow them… or just don’t get sick!

 

2 Responses to “Always Be Prepared!”

  1. Mellie McGraw Says:

    Hi Emily,
    Glad you’re feeling better. Way to stay ahead. Now stay healthy!

  2. Allison Says:

    Hey Emily! Im glad you’re feeling better! I know what you went through being sick! I was sick for a month! It was bad… I still feel like im not caught up with work and duty and all my homework that i always have, but the semester is going fast so its ok. I’m glad you liked your care package that I delivered on my midnight rounds? I think..?!?! If you need anything else.. ever.. just let me know! You know i try to have anything and everything anyone might need! Good blog! Talk to you later!


Leave a Reply

