Coping With PR

Public relations life lessons from a student who is still in the trenches.

Family comes first April 15, 2007

Filed under: family — copingwithpr @ 6:11 pm

PR life lesson #1243 ( life lesson #1)

WARNING: this entry extremely sappy and lacks my usual sharp wit. Please be advised and act accordingly. 

       This week has been tough and for once the stress hasn’t been from college. Some of my family and friends have had to face challenging events and hard decisions this week. And I had to drop everything in my life to be there for them because that’s what you do for family. I offered my support and love in every way I could.

       So I missed a few school deadlines this week, which is shocking for me (I NEVER turn things in late). But what is even more shocking is that I don’t mind. I will take the consequences in stride because in my heart I know I did the right thing. I wasn’t a great student this week, but I was a genuinely good person.

        I often forget this lesson despite the fact that it is so important. The lesson that in life family comes first. I let school take number one priority and have a heart attack if I don’t get an A on a test. But deep down I still know what truly matters: family.

        I have an amazing life because of my family and friends. Nothing gives me more joy then laughing with them. If I never become professionally successful, they will still love me, which is a huge comfort. School and work are important, but they will never be the most important things in my life.  Chase your dreams and accomplish wonderful feats. Just don’t forget what life is really about.

 

One Response to “Family comes first”

  1. Amy Cope Says:

    Emily, I sure must have done a couple things right along the way……You make me very proud. /MAMA


Leave a Reply

